Warrior teams and Stormtrooper

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Warrior teams and Stormtrooper

Post  Matt Varnish on Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:32 am

From Bob up in Petawawa, I will simply post the discussion they had, plus the response from BF


OK....................Dan C. brought to my attention at our last gaming night the little known rule found on pages 68 and 70 (MRB) that states Warrior and Independent teams that are not permanently part of a platoon move as a platoon on their own. He therefore felt that German Warrior and Indepnedent teams could Stormtrooper move on their own. I dismissed this out of hand at the time but have since given it more thought. I therefore submitted the following observation and question to Battlefront:


"The rule on making Stormtrooper moves is clear "Any German platoon with a Platoon Command team may attempt..." To date we've played that Warrior and Independent teams that attach themselves to a platoon can certainly Stormtrooper as long as the player has declared such before
the actual die roll. However, it was brought to my attention at our last game night that Warrior and Independent teams that are not permanently part of a platoon move as a platoon on their own (pages 68 and 70 of the MRB).

My question therefore is: Can German Warrior and Independent teams make Stormtrooper moves on their own without having to attach themselves to a platoon?"


Blake's Coster's response at Battlefront was:

Thank you for your e-mail regarding Flames Of War. Yes, Warriors and Independent teams can attempt to Stormtrooper without being attached to a platoon. I hope this helps."

Drew........DON"T GET ALL "I told you so !!!!!" on us.................

Bob


avatar
Matt Varnish

Posts : 2904
Join date : 2012-04-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Warrior teams and Stormtrooper

Post  Diragi on Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:24 pm

Matt Varnish wrote:Thank you for your e-mail regarding Flames Of War. Yes, Warriors and Independent teams can attempt to Stormtrooper without being attached to a platoon. I hope this helps."

I don't think that does help completely. The Q seemed to be more... can the Warrior teams hitch a ride with the platoon they are hanging out with -- not is the warrior team SOL b/c he's not a platoon with a command team.

Thoughts?
avatar
Diragi

Posts : 1953
Join date : 2012-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Warrior teams and Stormtrooper

Post  Matt Varnish on Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:37 pm

Well no, it does answer it, as the initial question never was can they if they attach, its a given they can, as they are a member of that platoon for that step. The question was, can they Stormtrooper on their own, as their own platoon, to which the answer is yes. BF could have made everything easier by saying EVERYTHING can stormtrooper except independent non-warrior teams. So the only things that can't then are things like Bergpanzers, Observer teams in Kubels, etc.
avatar
Matt Varnish

Posts : 2904
Join date : 2012-04-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Warrior teams and Stormtrooper

Post  Diragi on Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:43 pm

Matt Varnish wrote:Observer teams in Kubels, etc.

Seems kind of an arbitrary distinction.
avatar
Diragi

Posts : 1953
Join date : 2012-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Warrior teams and Stormtrooper

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum